A new beginning…

This was one my drum solos during the marathon. I am already tired out at this point. I can dance non stop for an hour now. I am slowly trying to train  my self to do long. A good practise is by trying to shimmy for really long, and that grows your stamina. But one thing is, we have to keep our energy levels up at all times. I have some issues with it.

Some areas i would like to work on are my arms. My style of dance involves alot of hips and chest movements, but i think when you use your arms, it gives a more wholesome look. Also it is probably i still feel awkward at a point or so.

Another area i feel i should work on, is entrances and exits. I know there is a bellydance dvd on this. I would like to check it out. So it looks more powerful and complete.

Other areas i am venturing at the moment

I am beginning to fuse indian and belly dance all over again. I pretty much did a choreography which i might record, but i realized since it involved alot of travelling steps i might need a bigger space to record me.

And for your pleasure i shall post the video up here

This is a tamil version, there is a malayalam version which i planned to dance for. They both have the same tune, except in different langauges. I am pretty well versed in both languages 🙂

My indian dance teacher used to make us dance with little fire lamps as kids, and thats what i want to experiment with right now.

Also indian dances are much prettier as a group. But solos are possible but alot of work has to be done.

It has to do alot with expressions and gracefullness!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “A new beginning…

Leave a Reply

