Teaching Kiddies

I dont know. But i enjoy being with kids than with adults. And now the only kid i teach is Amy. I am doing an experiment on her! Well, i hope i will be in contact with her until she matures. When i was young,  i asked my dad questions. He would ask me to search it myself. I used to think he didnt care. But lately, i think he did that because he cared! He is a type of father, who didnt believe in spoon feeding! He wanted me to explore and learn myself. And maybe that is why sometimes you would see me obsessing about certain topics. Some ask me, why am i unnecessarily exploring? I dont know. I find many people feed us crap and it is up to us whether we want to eat it or not. I rather have solid proofs on a topic. And i rather dig up those truths myself, then reading it off someone’s else research!

My experiment is to simplify adult knowledge (not RA) and feed Amy. If making me explore information at a young age created a Sabreena that still explores? What would feeding Amy knowledge an adult is exposed to   (Again not RA) I change complex stories or general knowledge into kiddy information. That creates a sort of curiousity in her. I believe i am doing good. Every Child is like a human body. You are what you eat!

So with children, especially when they ask meanings to really huge words. We cannot just tell them the meanings. If you read up more on this topic, you would realise children learn through seeing and hearing. As for me, i learn through hearing i guess.

So how do we make a subject visual. This doesnt only apply to kiddies. It applies to teenagers as well. You can go about vomitting words at them, like textbooks do. At the end of the day, it would be a transfer of words from teacher’s mouth to students notes on paper.

So we dealt with Sarcasm. For a 7 year old kid, that is a big word. To teach a kid, you have to be a kid i guess. And i acted out the meaning. And i captured a video of her acting the meaning of sarcasm out. And she was proud to see herself on video. Forgive me, due to my poor knowledge and lack of patience with the internet, my videos are all at a weird 90 degree angle. So cock your heads and watch them. If you need a massage just email me!

The problem with many student care centres and schools especially primary schools is that they listen too much to asian parents, who prefer everything in black and white. As in notes or worksheets. Yes it is a great reflection. But isnt it better that your kid spends more time understanding what he or she learns than spending time uselessly on notes she or he cant even comprehend? Than some stupid notes provided by a school as a gimmick that your kiddy is learning something?

The 2nd word we dealt with is EXAGERRATION. So again, i gave her an example. A really simple one. Like making a big fuss about losing a pencil. Then i realised, that LOSING A PENCIL is a big thing to a 7 year old! And the PRINCIPALS have higher authority than POLICEMEN. My kiddy took it to the next level. I  didnt mind it as long as she understood what she learnt.

Watch da video

Then we came across PERSONAL PRONOUNS.

I cant just tell a kiddy a huge word called personal pronouns. So we SANG a song about it. And little Amy remembers her HE, SHE, THEY etc.

The lyrics are

SHE IS, HE IS, AND THEY ARE. YOU ARE, WE ARE, AND THEY ARE. ONE PERSON IS AND MANY PERSONS ARE. BUT I REMEMBER THAT I AM. SHE IS, HE IS AND THEY ARE. YOU ARE, WE ARE AND THEY ARE

A good thing about this song is that.Not only are the personal pronouns highlighted. The kiddy remmebers when to use ARE and when to use IS. So we hit 2 birds with one stone.

Sometimes, adults have a misconception that we have to be strict with children. Like using canes to teach them. Force never works. We have to be them to teach them.

Sometimes i create stories with science concepts. Like if you were to ask a secondary school kid which is stronger, IRON or STEEL in retaining magnetism. He would try to recall what his textbook said.

So i told them a story.

ONCE UPON A TIME, THEY LIVED A MAN BY THE NAME OF STEEL AND LIVED ANOTHER MAN BY THE NAME OF IRON. THE IRON MAN LEARNS VERY QUICKLY AND THE STEEL MAN LEARNS VERY SLOWLY. BUT AFTER 5 YEARS, WHEN YOU ASK THEM A QUESTION, IRON MAN FORGETS AND STEEL MAN REMMEBERS.

Yes iron is faster in getting magnetised and loses its magnestism as quickly. And steel is slower in getting magnetised and retains magnetsim much stronger than iron.

Just like food has to be made colorful for young people, so is education.It is knowledge.

2 thoughts on “Teaching Kiddies

  1. I know it’s odd for me to bring up my father, but I remember one time I asked him a definition of a hard word, and he totally screwed it up. I wanted to know the meaning of the word narcissistic but he told me the definition of narcoleptic. Narcissistic means to be vain and shallow. Narcoleptic means to fall asleep at inappropriate moments. Boy are those different! Perhaps he should have given me the dictionary instead.

  2. Sometimes, adults dont like to look small in front of children which is a big mistake. Like my sister who was teaching, she spelled a word wrongly and her students pointed it out and she said “i was just testing you!”

    Its better to let the child be indepenant than giving the wrong information. Or like you said, maybe the dictionary would have been a better choice 🙂

Leave a Reply

